End of face mask requirement in public transport and travel restrictions from 23 may. Face mask only required in hospitals, for doctors and in pharmacies. PLF only required for travellers coming from areas with a new variant of concern.

Colour codes by country

As of 23 May 2022, no specific travel measures are associated with the colour codes below. Only persons travelling from a very high risk country to Belgium still need to follow measures.

Here you find more information about the colour codes by region or by country. You can read more about the measures that apply to travelling to and from Belgium here.

For an overview of the European travel situation, please consult the map of the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) (which is updated every Wednesday).

⚠️ ATTENTION ⚠️: This map is published for information only, the official national updates for Belgium take place on Saturday. This ECDC map cannot be invoked as a legal reason for not complying with the Belgian rules.

Colour codes

Each country is given a colour code.

  • Dark red colour code: regions or countries where individuals are at a high risk of infection.
  • Orange or red colour code: regions or countries for which a moderately elevated risk of infection has been identified.
  • Green colour code: regions or countries for which a low risk of infection has been identified.
  • Grey colour code: regions or countries where information is insufficient or where the screening rate is less than 300 cases per 100,000.

For countries in the EU and the Schengen Area

  • The following EU and Schengen Area countries have a grey or dark red coulour code. All other countries have a green, orange or red colour code.
Country/region Grey Dark red
Andorra / Andorra
Austria / Lower Austria, Vienna, Upper Austria, Salzburg, Carinthia, Styria, Tyrol, Burgenland, Voralberg
Bulgary Severozapaden/North West, Severen tsentralen/North Central, Severoiztochen/North East, Yugoiztochen/South East, Yugozapaden/South West, Yuzhen tsentralen/South Central /
Croatia Pannonian Croatia, North Croatia, Medimurska zupanija /
Cyprus / Cyprus
Denmark / Faroer
Estonia / /
Finland / South Finland, Nort and East Finland, Helsinki-Uusimaa, Åland, West Finland
France / Martinique, Pays de la Loire, Centre - Val de Loire, Bretagne, Aquitaine, Limousin, Poitou-Charentes, Auvergne, Rhône-Alpes, Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur, Corse, Réunion, Île de France, Bourgogne, France-Comté, Nord-Pas de Calais, Picardie, Alsace, Champagne-Ardenne, Lorraine, Languedoc-Roussillon, Midi-Pyrénées, Basse-Normandie, Haute-Normandie, Hauts-de-France, Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon, Guadeloupe, Saint-Barthélémy, Saint Martin, Occitanie
Germany Oberbayern, Niederbayern, Oberpfalz, Oberfranken, Mittelfranken, Unterfranken, Schwaben, Berlin, Brandenburg, Bremen, Hamburg, Darmstadt, Gießen, Kassel, Braunschweig, Hanover, Lüneburg, Weser-Ems, Düsseldorf, Köln, Münster, Detmold, Arnsberg, Koblenz, Trier, Rheinhessen-Pfalz, Saarland, Dresden, Chemnitz, Leipzig, Thüringen, Sachsen-Anhalt, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Schleswig-Holstein, Stuttgart, Karlsruhe, Freiburg, Tübingen /
Greece / Central Macedonia, Thessaly, Ionian Islands, Peloponnese, Central Greece, Western Greece, Epirus, Attica, Crete, South Aegean, North Aegean
Hungary Budapest, Pest, Central Transdanubia, Western Transdanubia, Southern Transdanubia, Northern Hungary, Northern Great Plain, Southern Great Plain /
Iceland / /
Ireland / /
Italy / Toscana, Marche, Autonomous Province of Bolzano, Calabria, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Veneto, Liguria, Emilia-Romagna, Lazio, Autonomous Province of Trento, Lombardy, Abruzzo, Calabria, Campania, Piemonte, Basilicata, Toscana, Sicily, Umbria, Puglia, Sardinia, Molise, Aosta Valley
Latvia / /
Liechtenstein Liechtenstein /
Lithuania Vilnius County, Cultural regions of Lithuania /
Luxembourg / Luxembourg
Malta / /
Monaco / Monaco
Netherlands Limburg, Friesland, Overijssel, Gelderland, Flevoland, Utrecht, South Holland, Zeeland, Groningen, Drenthe, North Holland, North Brabant, Sint-Eustatius, Curaçao, Bonaire, Saba /
Norway Trøndelag, , Innlandet, Northern Norway, Oslo and Viken, Adger and South Eastern Norway /
Poland Greater Poland Voivodeship, Lesser Poland Voivodeship, Silesian Voivodeship, West Pomeranian Voivodeship, Lubusz Voivodeship, Lower Silesian Voivodeship, Opole Voivodeship, Kuyavian-Pomeranian Voivodeship, Warmian-Masurian Voivodeship, Pomeranian Voivodeship, ?ódzkie Voivodeship, Lublin VoivodeshipPodkarpackie Voivodeship, Podlaskie Voivodeship, Mazovian Voivodeship, ?wi?tokrzyskie Voivodeship /
Portugal / Algarve, Center (PT), Lisbon Metropolitan Area, Alentejo, Autonomous Region of the Azores, Autonomous Region of Madeira, North
Romania Centre, North East, South East, South Muntenia, Bucuresti – Ilfov, South-West Oltenia, West /
San Marino / San Marino
Slovakia / /
Slovenia / /
Spain Valencian Community, Andalusia Galicia, Castilla y Léon, Melilla, Asturias, Murcia, Ceuta, Cantabria, Extremadura, Basque Country, Aragon
Sweden Stockholm, East Middle Sweden, Småland and the islands, South Sweden, West Sweden, North Middle Sweden, Middle Norrland, Upper Norrland /
Switzerland / Lake Genova Region, Vaud, Valais, Genève, Espace Mittelland, Bern, Freiburg, Solothurn, Neuchâtel, Jura, Northwestern Switzerland,Basel-Stadt, Basel-Landschaft, Aargau, Zürich, Ticino
Vatican City / Vatican City
Czech Republic Prague, Central Bohemia, Southwest, Northwest, Northeast, Southeast, Central Moravia, Moravian-Silesian /

As of Saturday 21th of May 2022 , the following regions will have a colour code dark red

  • Switzerland: Lake Genova Region, Vaud, Valais, Genève, Espace Mittelland, Bern, Freiburg, Solothurn, Neuchâtel, Jura, Northwestern Switzerland,Basel-Stadt, Basel-Landschaft, Aargau, Zürich, Ticino
  • Spain: Aragon

For third countries (= non-EU countries)

  • All countries listed in Annex 1 of the EU Council Recommendation on the temporary restriction of non-essential travel to the EU and its possible lifting are included in this white list (You can find more information on this Recommendation here). This list is updated every week by the Council of the EU and currently includes the following countries:

    • Bahrain
    • Chile
    • Colombia
    • Hongkong Special Administrative Region
    • Indonesia
    • Kuwait
    • Macau Special Administrative Region
    • New Zealand
    • Peru
    • Qatar
    • Rwanda
    • Saudi Arabia
    • South Korea
    • Taiwan as entity and territorial authority that is not recognised as state by at least one member state
    • United Arab Emirates
    • Uruguay
  • China is on the white list, subject to reciprocity. It is currently considered as a country outside the European Union or Schengen area, with colour code dark red .

  • All other third countries, that aren’t on the white list here above, are to be given a dark red or grey colour code.

  • Please note that in addition to the colour code dark red or grey, third countries may also be classified as “very high risk countries”, to which stricter measures apply.